The Board & Secretariat

The NCC is composed of board members as prescribed by the Maltese legislation and as outlined in the table below.


Agency Designated person Appointed person
Ministry for Finance & Employment Permanent Secretary Mr. Alfred Camilleri (NCC Chairperson)
Asset Recovery Bureau Chairperson Judge Emeritus Dr. Joseph David Camilleri
Central Bank of Malta Governor Prof. Edward Scicluna
Commissioner for Revenue Commissioner Mr. Marvin Gaerty
Financial Intelligence Analysis Unit Chairperson Mr. Jesmond Gatt
Malta Financial Services Authority Chairperson Prof. John Mamo
Malta Gaming Authority Chairperson  
Malta Police Force Commissioner Mr. Angelo Gafa
Ministry for Home Affairs, National Security & Law Enforcement Permanent Secretary Mr. Kevin Mahoney
Ministry for Justice, Equality & Governance Permanent Secretary Mr. Johan Galea
Office of the Attorney General Attorney General Dr. Victoria Buttigieg

The members of the National Coordinating Committee for Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism meet periodically for meetings chaired by the Chairperson. Several observers also attend these meetings. These observers include the FIAU Director, the Commissioner of Voluntary Organisations, the Registrar of Courts and several Chief Officers of the competent authorities.


A Secretariat supports the NCC which is headed by the Executive Head Dr. Helga Buttigieg Debono, and supported by her team of personnel. The supporting Secretariat is there to review, analyse and monitor the ML/TF threats in Malta, as well as to implement action plans against agreed timelines.